Birthday Festivities and shopping!

I would like to start of by saying HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my best friend Danielle Fazeela Khan because she turned 25 today! Today we had  the chance to finally hangout and spend the day together doing things that we both love.  We first started celebrating over breakfast at a family restaurant called Country Boy. The food was delicious. I ordered scrambled eggs with hash browns. It was all very delicious, by the time we were done I was completely full!

After breakfast we decided to sneak in some retail  therapy, we headed towards our local mall where we ended up shopping. The first store we went in to was Springs. Springs is a shoe store that carries everything from high-heels to flats. They also sell purses and other accessories.  After looking at the high-heels, I wish I could wear a pair without falling over. Most of my life I spent wearing either flats, sandals or sneakers.  I’ve never really been a shoe addict, I do love to shop but since my selection is limited, it doesn’t require a lot of time. My friend Danielle on the other hand loves to shop for shoes, one of this days I will have to take a picture of her collection and share it with you guys.

Once we left Springs we noticed a couple of sale signs right across and decided to check it out. We soon noticed that everything was on clearance because the store was closing. We browsed a little bit, tried on some shoes, we didn’t end up buying anything though.

Walking through the mall we noticed a lot of stores had huge sales
on, I don’t think I have seen so many stores trying to get rid of merchandise at the same time. Guess is the next store that we entered in the hopes of finding a wallet. The sales man seemed
friendly enough, he answered our questions and seemed very knowledgeable. I haven’t been into Guess for a long time so it was nice checking out what they had to offer.

The last place we went into before we left the mall was Bath and Body Works. Now, I will admit that I am completely obsessed with this store. I love the fact
that they sell everything from hand lotion to candles. If you love shopping for scented candles and hand cream for a reasonable price this is the place for you. A  lot of their hand lotion costs $1.00 ( mini lotion) If you want a larger size, the cost is around $11.00. Every single time I go into this store I end up buying more than I had originally planned going in. I always tell myself that ” I’m only going to browse” Nope, for some reason I can’t just “browse” All their products are strategically placed  so when you first walk in A) you see all the discounted items and B) the scent alone makes you want to walk in to see what they have to offer. Today though, I did pretty well. I walked in, grabbed a few stuff I wanted then asked myself if I really needed 2 more  hand creams when I already have about four in my purse. For once I stepped away before the sales lady asked me if I was ready to check out.

That was the end of our trip at the mall. Last minute, we decided to take a bus to Chapters so we could buy some books. I love reading so does Danielle.  One short bus ride later we arrived at our destination. (Side note: For me a perfect date would involve dinner and a trip  to Chapters)


Chapters, hands down is the best place for me to go when I want to unwind. They place chairs and tables through out the store in case you want to sit down and read. One of the first things I like to do before I start browsing for books is looking at journals. I do this every single time I come into a Chapters. The variety available is amazing. Some of the journals are expensive but they also have affordable, good quality journals. Two hours later we decided it was time to leave, at this point we had been out from 11:30 am to 4:30 pm. We both bought one book and headed outside to catch the bus.

Even though today was a long day, I am glad that I got to spend it with my best friend. We’ve had a lot of ups and downs through out the past ten years but at the end of the day we will always have each others best interests at heart.

On that note I hope you enjoyed getting to know me a little bit. I hope you guys had a wonderful evening as well. Life is short, make sure to spend it with the people you care about the most!


2 thoughts on “Birthday Festivities and shopping!

  1. Sounds like you had a great time:) We too went shopping last night, the shops are the same here in the UK, sales everywhere but no cash desks taking any money though. It was dead!!! We just bought some Smoked Salmon and Fresh bread and sat down watched a film with a glass of wine….it was fab!! Simple things with those you love are the best.

Leave a Reply

