Random Rambles #1

Hi everyone,

One of my new years resolutions was to photograph people and events. I recently went on my first shoot which involved taking photographs of  a lovely woman who needed head shots for a article she was submitting. We ended up shooting at a local park which turned out to be a lot of fun. I am not going to lie, I was really nervous when I first read the e-mail she sent me, I only had two days to prep for it which made me question myself and wonder if I was ready for my first photo shoot.

On the day of the photo shoot the weather was not that great, it was cold and windy. ( this definitely added to my nervousness) I was worried she was going to be too cold and end up cancelling the whole thing, lucky for me, she was a great sport and we ended up having a great shoot. She was a lot of fun to work with and very energetic making my job much easier than I thought it was going to be.  By the end of the shoot we decided to take some fun photos of her jumping. I was actually really happy with how it turned out. Below is the unedited version

Jump shot

Question time:  Since I am a beginner, I’m looking to a buy a beginners lens for my Canon T1i, right now I am deciding between:

  1. Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III Telephoto Zoom Lens for Canon SLR Cameras
  2. Canon 2044B002 EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom Lens

Which one do you guys think I should purchase? I want a lens that will take really good close up shots and portraits. let me know in the comment box below :)

Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Random Rambles #1

  1. Great photo! I’m so glad you had someone so good to work with for your first shoot, congratulations on a job well done!

    As far as lenses go, personally I’m a massive fan of my primes. I don’t use anything else even when shooting events. You just can’t match the quality with a zoom in my opinion.

    Have you checked out the 50mm 1.8? It’s a relatively cheap lens, it was my first upgrade lens when I bought my first dSLR and I fell in love with it. My very favourite portrait lens is my 85mm 1.8, but the 50mm comes a close second for a third of the price!

    If you’re a fan of soft “bokeh” backgrounds in portraits you might want to keep the aperture in mind when researching a lens, even if you’re not making use of it so much now I’m pretty sure you will eventually. Remember, a lens is an investment in your future kit!

      • Happy to be of any help! Please do let me know what you choose and how you get on, I’d love to know! I enjoy being nosey about what other people choose for their kit, hehe.

Leave a Reply

