My favorite photo editing apps ( iphone)

Hi everyone,

I have been receiving questions regarding what editing apps I use to edit my photos on my iPhone. Right now I have two that I absolutely love. Both apps are free and can be found at the apple store on your mobile.

instagram-logoThe first one is Instagram, I’m sure you have all heard of it by now so I am going to keep this one short. One of my favorite filters on Instagram is called “X-PRO 11” Below is a picture that I took of a fire place, the one on the top isn’t  filtered, and the one below it, is filtered. Keep in mind that not all of your original image will make it on to Instagram unless you adjust the size before you open it on this app. I did not take this photo if the Instagram camera, I took it with the camera on my phone ( which takes larger pictures)

20130409-022026.jpg

20130409-022034.jpg

Another filter that I use quite often is called “Sutro”. As you can see below, the first photo is not filtered and the second one is. You can definitely tell the difference. The first photo is really washed out ( the weather was terrible on this day) where as the second one is full of color and you can see the details much better. I did add some exposure
(this option is located right above the filters) If I want the full image to show on Instagram, I would use  their camera option, which sizes the picture for you right away, this way you don’t have to crop your photo at all.

20130409-024210.jpg
20130409-024223.jpg

Print

The second app that I want to share with you guys is called Snapseed.

“Snapseed is the only photo app you’ll want to use every day. It makes any photograph extraordinary with a fun, high-quality photo experience right at your fingertips.Anyone can enhance, transform, and share their photos with ease using incredibly advanced features from the leader in digital photography software. Built-in Google+ capabilities make it even more powerful to share your images with your friends and family.” (source: play.google.com)

The main reason I love snapsneed is because unlike instagram, you can edit your whole photo, there aren’t any size requirements. Even though it is more advanced than Instagram, once you play with it a couple of times, it becomes really easy to use. Some of my favorite options are cropping, exposure, black and white and a filter called drama. You can also pint point a source and blur out the background.

The filter drama is one of the main reasons I use Snapseed.This filter adds life to a picture. The image shown below pretty much describes what I mean.

20130409-031155.jpg

20130409-031205.jpg
I also use Snapseed when I  want to convert my photos to black and white like the image below. I have tried many black and white filters, so far this one is my favorite by far.

            20130409-025811.jpg                              20130409-025822.jpg

There are many more features and filters available on Snapseed, I am just covering two of my favorites otherwise this post would be very long. If you want to check out everything else this app has to offer click here to be directed to their website.

I have to admit that I use more than just the two apps that I listed above, however those two are the ones I use the most. Some other apps that I like are, PS express and Fotor-PES. I am the type of person who is always searching for  new apps to try. Sometimes I download 4 apps with in the same hour and end up deleting them. If you have any suggestions or have any request on apps that you want me to review feel free to leave them in the comment box.

Question of the day: What are your favorite editing apps?

Thanks for stopping by!

4 thoughts on “My favorite photo editing apps ( iphone)

Leave a Reply

