DIY Thursdays: De-potting candle jars

Hi everyone!

For today’s DIY, I am going to write about how I depot my candles. There are two ways you can do this, the first way is what I did and the second way is by running the jar under hot water. I’ll explain both, but first, let me show you how I de-pot my jars by freezing them. There aren’t many steps involved. I stuck the candle you see below in my freezer over night.

20140528-201521-72921992.jpgI then took a knife and carved around the edges, once I did that, I put the jar upside down and the wax came out.

20140528-201522-72922231.jpgOnce I got rid of the wax, I cleaned the jar with warm water and used a cloth to get rid of the residue. I also ran the bottom of the jar under hot water to get rid of the sticker.

What do I do with my empty jars?

Since I love nail polish, I store my go to nail polishes in one of my jars. I also like to store bracelets and necklaces for decoration. The great thing about this project is that you can customize it however you like.

20140528-201522-72922723.jpg
Besides jewellery and nail polish, I tend to reach for my cotton balls a lot when removing makeup. This is a great way to store your cotton balls. Since these jars don’t take up too much space, I leave one in my bathroom for convenience.  If you guys want to see different ways to decorate jars, leave them in the comments below and I will make a post on it!

20140528-201522-72922980.jpg

I mentioned earlier that there is a second way to de-potting your candle jars. If you don’t want to put it in the freezer all you have to do is run it under warm water for about half an hour. It depends on how long the it takes the wax to loosen up. Once  the wax loosens, take a knife to carve out the edges and pop the wax out. Clean the jar with warm water and a cloth.

Both ways work fine, I found putting the jar in the freezer caused less mess when removing the wax. That’s all for today, let me know if you found this DIY helpful!

Every Thursday I’m going to try and post a DIY, I’m hoping to make this a regular thing since I love to craft!

Thanks for stopping by and make sure to follow me @suadyas if you want to see more photos or what I’m up to.

 

 

Leave a Reply

